I Remember

To look back I have to remove myself – close my eyes and force myself upward and take that initial breath that could collapse my lungs and ensure my failure. In the dark part of my eyes, in the pockets of my mind I remember seeing your face for the first time in a long time, then the water rushed then into my ears and only your voice could penetrate, just like your intoxicating scent enveloped me at once. The days ahead were ours and it didn’t matter what happened when the light was shining, because after everything became quiet we would be together alone. We had twenty days that passed in a matter of hours. I waited for you to open the door, to look at me and smile, to touch me to make me laugh. The future didn’t matter – but then it did. I had t rip myself away from you to go back to a life void of taste and color and warmth. And now I’m stuck. And I slipped, sinking and I’m lost without you. You’re both calling my name but its hard to move – carry nothing, being caressed by the waves under the surface.

0 Responses to “I Remember”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


